About the BioBlitz

The BioBlitz is a collaborative event overseen by a steering committee of representatives from leading environmental organizations and team leaders. Each team leader is responsible for recruiting up to 4 additional team members.  

Steering Committee Members

Jack Barnett, Delaware Highlands Mushroom Society
Sue Currier
Don Hamilton, National Park Service
Stef Kroll, Academy of Natural Sciences
Joann Morsch
Karen Outlaw, Norcross Wildlife Foundation
Diane Rosencrance, Delaware Highlands Conservancy
Robin Sampson
Steve Schwartz
Nicole Slevin, Cornell Cooperative Extension
Kelley Stewart, Wayne County Conservation District
Faith Zerbe, Delaware Riverkeeper Network

Steven Schwartz is the 2018 Upper Delaware BioBlitz Coordinator in collaboration with the Steering Committee.

Mary Anne Carlotta is the Volunteer Coordinator
Robin Sampson is the School Outreach Coordinator
Nicole Slevin is the Public Relations and Outreach Coordinator
Joann Morsch, NPS is the Program Coordinator
Stef Kroll and Don Hamilton are the Science Coordinators
Sue Currier is the Music and Performance Coordinator

The Delaware Highlands Conservancy is the Fiscal Sponsor for the event and all contributions to the event through the Conservancy are tax deductible.

Team Leaders

Aquatic Macroinvertebrates – Dr. Erik Silldorff of the Delaware Riverkeeper Network and Dr. Stef Kroll, The Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University
Birds –Dr. Matt Marshall of the NPS Eastern Rivers and Mountains Inventory and Monitoring Network
Botany – Kelley Stewart of the Wayne County Conservation District
Fish - Dr. Paul Overbeck, The Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University, Patrick Center for Environmental Research
Fungi - Jack Barnett, Delaware Highlands Mushroom Society
Herps - Dr. Thomas LaDuke, East Stroudsburg University
Terrestrial Invertebrates – Dr. Isabelle Betancourt of the Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University
Mammals - Dr Howard Whidden, East Stroudsburg University
Mosses and Lichens - Keith Bowman

Sponsoring Organizations

Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University
Catskill Brewery
Cornell Cooperative Extension Sullivan County
Delaware Highlands Conservancy
Delaware Highlands Mushroom Society
Delaware Riverkeeper Network
Friends of the Upper Delaware River
Hancock Community Education Foundation
Hancock Liquor Store
National Environmental Education Foundation
National Park Service
National Parks Conservation Association
NE PA Audubon Society
Norcross Wildlife Foundation
Pennsylvania Native Plant Society
Sierra Club, PA Chapter
Sullivan County Audubon Society
Upper Delaware Council
US Forest Service
The John & Helen Villaume Foundation
Wayne County Community Foundation
Wayne County Conservation District
Willow Wisp Organic Farm

Delaware Highlands Conservancy is the Fiscal Agent for the event.

Like the BioBlitz on Facebook